Koshi Zone,Morang District

September 14, 2008 at 1:38 pm Leave a comment

Morang District

Morang District, a part of Kosi Zone, is one of the seventy-five districts of Nepal, a landlocked country of South Asia. The district, with Biratnagar as its district headquarters, covers an area of 1,855km² and has a population (2001) of 843,220.

The name Morang is derived from the name of the Limbu King Mawrong Mung Hang, who established Morang Kingdom in the beginning of seventh century. His capital and fort was at Rongli, present day Rangeli. Morang was then annexed to greater Limbuwan by King Uba hang in 849 CE and ruled until 1584 CE when Limbu King Sangla Ing made Morang independent and ruled from Varatappa situated east of Modern Bijaypur. The Ing Dynasty and followed by Sen dynasty then Khebang dynasty ruled Morang until 1774 CE. Morang name fell from use after the annexation of all the Kingdoms of Limbuwan including Morang by King Prithivi Narayan Shah of Gorkha. The last King of Morang was Buddhi Karna Raya Khebang, who ruled from Bijaypur near Dharan.

Kingdom of Morang until annexation to Gorkha Kingdom of King Prithivi Narayan Shah comprised all the terai lands east of Kosi river and west of Mechi river.

The name Morang came into use again after the shah kings divided the country into administrative districts and Morang was named after the old Morang Kingdom.

Morang is a district on the southern Tarai, or plains, of Eastern Nepal. Most of the land is taken up by rice and jute cultivation, though areas of Sal forest remain along the northern part of the district where the plains meet the hills. A large amount of the forest was cleared in the last century, and in the process, many settlers migrated to the district from the hills and India. The Morang plains are one of the most culturally diverse regions in Nepal.

Most of the district is rural, though it is also home to Biratnagar, the 2nd largest city in Nepal after Kathmandu. Other minor towns include Urlabari, Biratchowk and Rangeli. It also boosts largest industrial area in the whole country, expanding from Rani Mills Area to Duhabi River. Raghupati Jute Mills and Dhanawat Matches are among the nation’s oldest industries. The recent opening of Purvanchal University in Biratnagar, which offers graduate level courses in many disciplines of Arts and Liberal Sciences, is certain to make the place a college town as it attracts college graduates from most of the eastern part of the nation.

The district neighbours India to the south, and the districts of Sunsari to the west and north, Jhapa to the east, and Dhankuta to the north east.

Morang district Itis a southerneast district of nepal a mixed bag of different cultures and religions. It has got a long history of its originity. It inclued

Morang District
Map of with Morang District highlighted
Area     1,855 km²
Population (2001)
• Density     843,220   /km²
Time zone     NPT (UTC+5:45)


Entry filed under: Koshi Zone.

Koshi Zone,Dhankuta District Koshi Zone,Sankhuwasabha District

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

September 2008


%d bloggers like this: